The World is One Big Brand

Thanks Pinterest!

 

I kind of did college a little backwards in that I finished my minor before I even picked a major. I told everyone I was making baby steps but in reality I was pretty lost. Sometimes I wonder what it would have been like if I had majored in Business and minored in Journalism instead of the other way around. Either way, marketing is still a big interest of mine. Marketing and brands are everywhere, even if we don’t realize it. Subliminal messaging constantly influences us, even as young children.

I stumbled around a nifty blog all about marketing and found a lot of interesting posts. Apparently the new fruit on the market is the Grapple, an odd combination of Concord grapes and an apple. Just reading about it and hearing that it tastes like a grape but is a crunchy apple just makes me cringe. I would much rather have little grape-sized apples. How cute would that be?!

Another post lists all of the brands that most people use as the word instead of the real name. I looked at all sixteen and realized I use the specific brand name all sixteen names instead of what the products actually are. That amazed me. But I could never go back to calling Jello-O “gelatin dessert.” Never in a million years.

I guess I have been influenced by brands just as much as the next person. But right now, I don’t mind too much.

Leave a comment